candles (3)

I would rather not palaver
endlessly with this unscrupulous organ
who takes so much credit. I would rather
not be at war with the thing that gives me
power. I would rather not lay amidst
the licorice scent of sweet mace and think
only of blood.


Excerpt. Sweet mace is another name for Mexican marigold (known by many other names, but taxonomically Tagetes lucida). When I was a kid, I used to collect the leaves and make perfumes with it. The scent evokes very strong memories of childhood. 

Leave a Reply

